Mergers and Acquisitions

Forward Page

At Reinhart, we pride ourselves not only on our legal insight in the mergers and acquisitions field, but also on our ability to get the deal done. Our Mergers and Acquisitions attorneys are adept at managing the complex considerations that arise in the process of completing a deal, including regulatory, antitrust, business reorganization, labor and employment, litigation and tax issues.

We leverage the collective experience, contacts and market savvy of our attorneys to locate strategic partners, find and connect prospective purchasers and sellers, arrange necessary financing and negotiate the most favorable terms for our clients. Our middle market mergers and acquisitions practice in southeast Wisconsin is unmatched, and the work of Reinhart attorneys can be seen in the growth of some of the region’s most influential enterprises.

Our team is known for its extensive transactional experience. We work frequently with special committees in connection with various types of transactions, ranging anywhere from several million dollars to several billion dollars in transaction value.

Our Mergers and Acquisitions Practice encompasses a broad spectrum of industries, clients and activities, and we provide counsel on all of the most critical aspects of an M&A transaction:

  • Counseling » We determine and develop an optimal corporate structure from a tax, liability mitigation and operational standpoint. We negotiate and structure complex transactions and counsel purchasers and sellers of every size, from small- and middle-market companies to large, publicly held companies.
  • Negotiation » Our attorneys leverage their experience and knowledge of the marketplace to help negotiate the best possible deal for our clients. That experience also allows us to see the potential obstacles to a deal getting done, as well as identify the critical parts of the deal that make all the difference.
  • Due Diligence » Deals can be made or broken based on the acquirer’s ability to execute on the business plan following the acquisition. We work with clients to examine the post-transaction entity, and how to execute on a new business strategy following the deal’s closing.
  • Execution » We understand that deals are judged to be successful or not based on the synergies realized by the acquisition, and the ability of the entity to capitalize on those synergies. We counsel clients on positioning them for success after the deal, always keeping in perspective the client’s end goals.

We work closely with a multidisciplinary team of attorneys, leveraging the experience of others related to the deal, including Tax, Real Estate and Employee Benefits.

Our Mergers and Acquisitions group regularly counsels clients on the following types of transactions:

  • Asset purchases and sales
  • Stock purchases and sales
  • Mergers
  • Leveraged recapitalizations
  • Equity recapitalizations
  • Joint ventures and strategic alliances
  • Leveraged buy-outs
  • Spin-offs
  • Proxy solicitations and control contests
  • Tender offers
  • Going-private transactions


Attorneys

Author(s)

Lucien A. Beaudry

Shareholder o: 414.298.8189 f: 414.298.8097 lbeaudry@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James M. Bedore

Shareholder o: 414.298.8196 m: 414.333.0733 jbedore@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Vincent J. Beres

Shareholder o: 262.951.4588 f: 262.951.4690 vberes@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Larri J. Broomfield

Shareholder o: 414.298.8231 f: 414.298.8097 lbroomfield@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Lawrence J. Burnett

Shareholder o: 414.298.8175 f: 414.298.8097 lburnett@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Brian G. Carroll

Shareholder o: 262.951.4544 f: 262.951.4690 bcarroll@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Hana Cho

Associate o: 414.298.8327 f: 414.298.8097 hcho@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Daniel P. Cooper

Shareholder o: 414.298.8134 f: 414.298.8097 dcooper@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Catherine L. Davies

Shareholder o: 414.298.8335 f: 414.298.8097 cdavies@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Tristan A. Dollinger

Associate o: 414.298.8361 f: 414.298.8097 tdollinger@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Scott M. Fabry

Shareholder o: 262.951.4515 f: 262.951.4690 sfabry@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Eric P. Hagemeier

Shareholder o: 262.951.4546 f: 262.951.4690 ehagemeier@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Anthony J. Handzlik

Shareholder o: 414.298.8190 f: 414.298.8097 ahandzlik@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert F. Henkle, Jr.

Shareholder o: 414.298.8140 f: 414.298.8097 rhenkle@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Troy A. Hilliard

Shareholder o: 414.298.8145 f: 414.298.8097 thilliard@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Kevin J. Howley

Shareholder o: 414.298.8188 f: 414.298.8097 khowley@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jerome M. Janzer

Shareholder o: 414.298.8180 f: 414.298.8097 jjanzer@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Timothy J. Kamke

Shareholder o: 414.298.8432 f: 414.298.8097 tkamke@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Adam R. Konrad

Shareholder o: 414.298.8737 f: 414.298.8097 akonrad@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Carl R. Kugler

Shareholder o: 608.229.2244 f: 608.229.2100 ckugler@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Benjamin G. Lombard

Shareholder o: 414.298.8225 f: 414.298.8097 blombard@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Martin J. McLaughlin

Shareholder o: 414.298.8219 f: 414.298.8097 mmclaughlin@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Travis R. Mueller

Shareholder o: 414.298.8348 f: 414.298.8097 tmueller@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John T. Murphy

Associate o: 414.298.8713 f: 414.298.8097 jtmurphy@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Thomas A. Myers

Shareholder o: 414.298.8120 f: 414.298.8097 tmyers@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Nathan J. Neuberger

Shareholder o: 414.298.8100 f: 414.298.8097 nneuberger@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Albert S. Orr

Shareholder o: 414.298.8209 f: 414.298.8097 aorr@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James A. Pellegrini

Shareholder o: 262.951.4508 f: 262.951.4690 jpellegrini@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Michael T. Pepke

Shareholder o: 414.298.8133 f: 414.298.8097 mpepke@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Timothy P. Reardon

Shareholder o: 414.298.8227 f: 414.298.8097 treardon@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Christopher E. Rechlicz

Shareholder o: 414.298.8368 f: 414.298.8097 crechlicz@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John T. Reichert

Shareholder o: 414.298.8445 f: 414.298.8097 jreichert@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John L. Schliesmann

Shareholder o: 414.298.8125 f: 414.298.8097 jschliesmann@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Meghan K. Shannon

Shareholder o: 414.298.8138 f: 414.298.8097 mshannon@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James A. Sheriff

Shareholder o: 414.298.8413 f: 414.298.8097 jsheriff@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John K. Tokarz

Associate o: 414.298.8453 f: 414.298.8097 jtokarz@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Kathryn K. Westfall

Associate o: 414.298.8226 f: 414.298.8097 kwestfall@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Melissa M. York

Associate o: 414.298.8706 f: 414.298.8097 myork@reinhartlaw.com View full profile
  • Assisting a large U.S. auto parts supplier in forming a joint venture in India with German and Indian partners
  • Assisting a large national mutual insurance company and its agents in multiple divestitures of non-core product lines
  • Represented a Midwest-based industrial sand company in repositioning its business to mine, process and distribute frac sand to North American energy companies
  • Represented a manufacturing company in sale of chemical division to multinational manufacturer headquartered in Germany for approximately $270 million
  • Represented and assisted a private Midwest appliance distributor with finding a strategic buyer to purchase the business for $15 million
  • Represented a Midwest public bank holding company in the acquisition of another public bank holding company for approximately $290 million
  • Represented a private equity group in the acquisition of a commercial laundry business for $15 million
  • Represented a private Midwest manufacturer in the sale to a private equity purchaser for more than $2 billion
  • Represented a private equity fund in the acquisition by merger of a Midwest commercial printing and stationary manufacturer for $25 million
  • Represented a large, private printing and label company in a series of add-on acquisitions ranging from $1 million to $5 million
  • Represented a private manufacturer of butter and cream cheese in the formation of an ESOP and the merger of the ESOP with one of the country’s largest manufacturers of butter and cream cheese
  • Represented a financial services and payment technology company in connection with a series of add-on acquisitions ranging in price from $100 million to $250 million
  • Represented a minority shareholder in litigation related to stock valuation and buyout rights and negotiation of buyout for $2-10 million
  • Represented a corporation in the restructuring and spinoff of two ancillary businesses and then the subsequent sale to minority shareholders for $2 million
  • Represented a large, public toy company in the acquisitions of several complementary product lines
  • Represented a special committee in the reorganization and merger of a large public manufacturing company and controlling public company shareholder to affect the distribution of the manufacturing company shares to shareholders of holding company

News


Sixteen Reinhart attorneys are named “Leaders in their Field” by Chambers USA.
Continue


In an interview with the Wisconsin Banker, Reinhart’s John Reichert discussed how 2015 was Wisconsin’s most active year for merger and acquisition activity in the banking industry in recent history, and what the implications for such activity are.
Continue


Reinhart is expanding its business law team with the addition of shareholder Carl R. Kugler, an accomplished attorney who will lead the firm’s Corporate Law Practice in Madison.
Continue

View All News

Knowledge

View All Knowledge