Tax

Reinhart Tax attorneys have a well-earned reputation for providing cost-effective and practical solutions to our clients' tax and legal challenges.

Forward Page

As part of a practice area that has its roots in the earliest days of our firm, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren’s Tax attorneys have earned a reputation of providing cost-effective and practical solutions to our clients’ tax and legal challenges. We listen and respond, but more importantly, we get results. This is reflected in our established record of obtaining significant tax reductions for our clients, both in and out of court.

At Reinhart, we understand that the ability to make sound business decisions relies in large part on having access to clear and consistent information – particularly how taxation can affect your business’ finances. Since its inception, our Tax Practice has been guided by a commitment to stay ahead of continuously changing laws and regulations and find creative yet practical tax law solutions for our clients. Drawing on experience from a deep bench of attorneys that are well-versed in a wide range of issues, Reinhart’s Tax attorneys are adept at working the entire continuum of tax law, from reducing tax burdens to defending audits to tax controversy and litigation.

Leveraging our valued perspective as a law firm that fully understands and appreciates how business decisions are made, our attorneys work to provide counsel that frames tax advice in a larger business context. As a result, our clients understand the most tax-efficient way to achieve their business goals. We pride ourselves on simplifying the complexity of tax law for our clients and equipping them with actionable information that allows them to make better decisions based on the tax ramifications. Our thorough, proactive approach provides clients the peace of mind that comes from knowing their tax law solutions are optimal for their unique situation and business setting.

Reinhart’s Tax Practice is dedicated to reducing the tax liabilities of the Wisconsin-based, national and international businesses we serve. Closely owned companies, in particular, benefit from our strategic tax insights, depth of experience and our success in a number of landmark tax cases. We represent clients at the local, state and federal level.

Our clients also benefit from our long-standing and respected relationships with taxing authorities. This brings an unmatched level of sophistication to all of our tax representations, whether the matter involves tax planning, auditing or litigation services. Our tax practitioners bring unparalleled knowledge and expertise to very specific tax laws and situations, and pledge to seek tax-efficient business solutions customized for each client’s individual circumstance.

Many of our attorneys teach or have taught other tax practitioners at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee’s Masters of Tax program, Marquette University Law School and other tax-related seminars and programs. Our attorneys have authored and co-authored tax textbooks, treatises, scholarly articles and publications, and several of our attorneys are former IRS trial attorneys or Department of Revenue officials.

We have obtained successful results in tax cases before state and federal trial and appellate courts including the United States Tax Court, federal district courts, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals, the Court of Federal Claims, the United States Supreme Court, the Wisconsin Tax Appeals Commission, Wisconsin circuit courts and the Wisconsin Court of Appeals.

Attorneys

Author(s)

John R. Austin

Of Counsel o: 262.951.4509 f: 262.951.4690 jaustin@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Amy L. Barnes

Shareholder o: 414.298.8164 f: 414.298.8097 abarnes@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Lucien A. Beaudry

Shareholder o: 414.298.8189 f: 414.298.8097 lbeaudry@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Vincent J. Beres

Shareholder o: 262.951.4588 f: 262.951.4690 vberes@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Daniel P. Cooper

Shareholder o: 414.298.8134 f: 414.298.8097 dcooper@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jennifer R. D'Amato

Shareholder o: 414.298.8319 f: 414.298.8097 jdamato@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Margaret M. Derus

Shareholder o: 414.298.8304 f: 414.298.8097 mderus@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Scott M. Fabry

Shareholder o: 262.951.4515 f: 262.951.4690 sfabry@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Benjamin B. Genzer

Associate o: 414.298.8310 f: 414.298.8097 bgenzer@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Michael G. Goller

Shareholder o: 414.298.8336 f: 414.298.8097 mgoller@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Anthony J. Handzlik

Shareholder o: 414.298.8190 f: 414.298.8097 ahandzlik@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John A. Herbers

Shareholder o: 414.298.8176 f: 414.298.8097 jherbers@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Gary A. Hollman

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8113 f: 414.298.8097 ghollman@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Adam R. Konrad

Shareholder o: 414.298.8737 f: 414.298.8097 akonrad@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert E. Meldman

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8181 f: 414.298.8097 rmeldman@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Don M. Millis

Shareholder o: 608.229.2234 f: 608.229.2100 dmillis@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert J. Misey, Jr.

Shareholder o: 414.298.8135 f: 414.298.8097 rmisey@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Douglas A. Pessefall

Shareholder o: 414.298.8311 f: 414.298.8097 dpessefall@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jessica Hutson Polakowski

Shareholder o: 608.229.2219 f: 608.229.2100 jpolakowski@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Sara Stellpflug Rapkin

Associate o: 414.298.8206 f: 414.298.8097 sstellpflug@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Timothy P. Reardon

Shareholder o: 414.298.8227 f: 414.298.8097 treardon@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John L. Schliesmann

Shareholder o: 414.298.8125 f: 414.298.8097 jschliesmann@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Kristina E. Somers

Shareholder o: 414.298.8249 f: 414.298.8097 ksomers@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

News


Reinhart’s Don Millis commented on the intricacies of property tax assessments for big box retail stores in a recent FOX6 News segment, specifically addressing some misconceptions regarding a tax strategy that has been deceptively called “the dark store theory.”
Continue


Reinhart announces the addition of twelve new associates. Ten are located in Reinhart’s Milwaukee office, one is located in the firm’s Madison office and one in the firm’s Rockford office.
Continue


U.S. News – Best Lawyers® highly ranks Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren s.c. (Reinhart) in numerous practice areas within Wisconsin and nationally in the recently released 2017 “Best Law Firms” listings.

Continue

View All News

Knowledge

Repeal of the Death Tax

As part of his proposed tax plan, President Trump plans to repeal the “death tax” a controversial tax that affects the wealthiest .002% of Americans. For reasons described below, the repeal will not be permanent.

| Jennifer R. D’Amato

10 Steps to Plan Your Business Legacy

Don’t let uncertainty over estate tax repeal become one more reason to delay focusing on framing the legacy you want to leave for your family and your business. Instead, view legacy planning as an ongoing process that could become critically important at any time.

| Jennifer R. D’Amato

View All Knowledge