Litigation

Reinhart's Litigation attorneys have preserved the art of being trial lawyers.

Forward Page

When most law firms talk about their Litigation Practices, they repeat the same claims – highlighting qualities like intelligent, specialized, efficient and experienced. In actuality, those same traits describe Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren’s Litigation attorneys, save for one big difference: we know what it takes to win. At a time when only a small percentage of civil cases go to trial, we have preserved the art of being trial lawyers.

Reinhart’s trial teams include attorneys who have clerked for state and federal trial and appellate court judges (including the Wisconsin Supreme Court), former prosecutors, as well as some who previously worked at very large law firms in Chicago and New York. Other lawyers have developed their passion for litigation inside our own walls. We train our associate attorneys to be trial lawyers and build real-world case experience starting on their first day, reinforcing that commitment through our Pro Bono Program, as well as by placing them as Special Assistant District Attorneys in Milwaukee County.

Whether the case reaches trial or not, that commitment to understanding our practice and profession has a big impact on client outcomes. Based on our depth of experience, we know what we need to prove to win a case, and our attorneys know how to develop that evidence with precision and efficiency. Reinhart’s Litigation attorneys leverage this unique perspective of trial successes to evaluate the strength of cases, and to predict and budget our fees with greater certainty. That precise ability to assess cases allows us to efficiently achieve justice and obtain favorable results for our clients.

Simply put, we have the skills to win inside and outside the courtroom. And Reinhart’s Litigation attorneys leverage this trial preparedness to find quick and creative solutions with opposing counsel that wish to avoid long, protracted court battles. This approach often allows us to settle cases for greater value without the need for a costly trial, allowing our clients to focus on what they do best – building their business.

Reinhart’s Litigation attorneys understand the delicate balance a business must find between protecting assets in the event of a litigation action, while also appreciating the value of finite resources to any size company. We respect the fact that not every business can afford to invest in costly litigation, and to the degree possible will work diligently and efficiently without letting traditional billable hour fee models get in the way.

This unmatched level of collaboration means that Reinhart is uniquely suited to fashion an alternative fee arrangement that will be mutually beneficial to both parties, such as a flat fee, reduced rates with a success fee if we win, or even a straight contingent fee. Through active dialogue to ensure that our goals are always aligned, we help clients accurately evaluate return on investment and share the risks proactively.

Our Litigation attorneys are leaders in the legal community, and we know our judges and opposing counsel well. We have served as presidents of the Milwaukee Bar Association, the Eastern District of Wisconsin Bar Association, the Western District of Wisconsin Bar Association and the Thomas E. Fairchild Inn of Court. Reinhart attorneys have dedicated themselves to participating in and leading these organizations throughout the years; in doing so, we have built credibility on the bench and bar. Several of our former shareholders have been honored to become trial court judges.

Further, Reinhart’s Litigation attorneys have received consistent praise. We are consistently ranked among the best by our clients and peers; our clients often hire us to try cases that had previously been handled by other lawyers; large national firms rely on us for their local matters; and we have even been hired by our previous opposing counsel, one of the highest compliments in our profession. While most Litigation Practices serve similar functions, Reinhart clearly stands apart.

Attorneys

Author(s)

Christopher P. Banaszak

Shareholder o: 414.298.8320 f: 414.298.8097 cbanaszak@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Steven P. Bogart

Shareholder o: 414.298.8192 f: 414.298.8097 sbogart@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Laura A. Brenner

Shareholder o: 414.298.8342 f: 414.298.8097 lbrenner@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Thomas M. Burnett

Shareholder o: 414.298.8343 f: 414.298.8097 tburnett@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James M. Burrows

Associate o: 414.298.8303 f: 414.298.8097 jburrows@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Mark A. Cameli

Shareholder o: 414.298.8155 f: 414.298.8097 mcameli@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jennifer R. D'Amato

Shareholder o: 414.298.8319 f: 414.298.8097 jdamato@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Andrea M. Davenport

Associate o: 414.298.8434 f: 414.298.8097 adavenport@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Francis W. Deisinger

Shareholder o: 414.298.8178 f: 414.298.8097 fdeisinger@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Margaret M. Derus

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8304 f: 414.298.8097 mderus@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert S. Driscoll

Shareholder o: 414.298.8272 f: 414.298.8097 rdriscoll@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Malinda J. Eskra

Associate o: 414.298.8730 f: 414.298.8097 meskra@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Michael G. Goller

Shareholder o: 414.298.8336 f: 414.298.8097 mgoller@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Scott W. Hansen

Shareholder o: 414.298.8123 f: 414.298.8097 shansen@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

David G. Hanson

Shareholder o: 414.298.8324 f: 414.298.8097 dhanson@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Andrew J. Heinisch

Shareholder o: 815.654.5621 f: 815.654.5770 aheinisch@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Patrick J. Hodan

Shareholder o: 414.298.8333 f: 414.298.8097 phodan@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Bridget M. Hubing

Shareholder o: 262.951.4521 f: 262.951.4690 bhubing@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Sarah A. Huck

Shareholder o: 414.298.8193 f: 414.298.8097 shuck@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Stephen T. Jacobs

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8122 f: 414.298.8097 sjacobs@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

David O. Krier

Shareholder o: 414.298.8747 f: 414.298.8097 dkrier@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James N. Law

Associate o: 414.298.8233 f: 414.298.8097 jlaw@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Shawn E. Lovell

Associate o: 608.229.2265 f: 608.229.2100 slovell@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Paul V. Lucke

Retired Shareholder o: 414.298.8106 f: 414.298.8097 plucke@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Amy L. MacArdy

Associate o: 414.298.8218 f: 414.298.8097 amacardy@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Monica A. Mark

Associate o: 608.229.2204 f: 608.229.2100 mmark@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Steven W. Martin

Shareholder o: 262.951.4511 f: 262.951.4690 smartin@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Don M. Millis

Shareholder o: 608.229.2234 f: 608.229.2100 dmillis@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

R. Timothy Muth

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8210 f: 414.298.8097 tmuth@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Brittany Lopez Naleid

Associate o: 414.298.8215 f: 414.298.8097 bnaleid@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

J. Bushnell Nielsen

Shareholder o: 262.951.4514 f: 262.951.4690 bnielsen@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Bryan K. Nowicki

Shareholder o: 608.229.2218 f: 608.229.2100 bnowicki@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Philip R. O'Brien

Shareholder o: 414.298.8243 f: 414.298.8097 pobrien@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Douglas A. Pessefall

Shareholder o: 414.298.8311 f: 414.298.8097 dpessefall@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

David G. Peterson

Shareholder o: 262.951.4527 f: 262.951.4690 dgpeterson@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jessica Hutson Polakowski

Shareholder o: 608.229.2219 f: 608.229.2100 jpolakowski@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Raymond M. Roder

Retired Shareholder o: 608.229.2206 f: 608.229.2100 rroder@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jeffrey D. Roeske

Associate o: 414.298.8464 f: 414.298.8097 jroeske@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jeunesse M. Rutledge

Associate o: 414.298.8345 f: 414.298.8097 jrutledge@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Sarah Sargent

Associate o: 414.298.8338 f: 414.298.8097 ssargent@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Allen C. Schlinsog, Jr.

Shareholder o: 414.298.8214 f: 414.298.8097 aschlinsog@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert K. Sholl

Shareholder o: 414.298.8143 f: 414.298.8097 rsholl@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

David J. Sisson

Shareholder o: 414.298.8332 f: 414.298.8097 dsisson@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Lynn M. Stathas

Shareholder o: 608.229.2205 f: 608.229.2100 lstathas@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Ryan S. Stippich

Shareholder o: 414.298.8264 f: 414.298.8097 rstippich@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Paul J. Stockhausen

Shareholder o: 414.298.8186 f: 414.298.8097 pstockha@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Joshua D. Taggatz

Associate o: 608.229.2102 f: 608.229.2100 jtaggatz@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Guy R. Temple

Shareholder o: 414.298.8121 f: 414.298.8097 gtemple@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John M. Van Lieshout

Shareholder o: 414.298.8182 f: 414.298.8097 jvanlieshout@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Justin P. Webb

Associate o: 414.298.8364 f: 414.298.8097 jwebb@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

News


Justin P. Webb, an attorney in Reinhart’s Litigation Practice discusses the Internet of Things during a Milwaukee Business Journal Panel.
Continue


Fifteen Reinhart attorneys are recognized as 2017 “Leaders in their Field” by Chambers USA.
Continue


Justin Webb’s background in information security allows him to draw upon his experiences to better serve his clients.
Continue

View All News

Knowledge

Let Thy Consumer Review: Gag Clauses Outlawed in Form Contracts

To preserve their image, some companies began putting “gag” clauses in their standardized sales terms that prohibited consumers from posting any negative reviews. When consumers described their bad experiences with products or services, often in online reviews, companies contacted them to remind them of the clauses, but Congress responded with an act gaging the gag clauses.

| Laura A. Brenner, Troy A. Hilliard, Jeffrey D. Roeske

View All Knowledge