Intellectual Property

Reinhart's intellectual property attorneys work with inventors, institutions and businesses to develop comprehensive solutions for intellectual property protection.

Forward Page

At a time of vigorous competition for new products, processes and profits across every industry, it is more important than ever to protect the intangible value of ideas. As companies and individuals pioneer new ways to solve challenges and conduct business, their breakthroughs must be fairly attributed and documented. Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren’s Intellectual Property attorneys understand and appreciate this enterprising quality, and that passion for innovation shines through in our counsel.

We work with independent inventors, educational institutions and businesses of all sizes to develop comprehensive solutions and individualized strategies for intellectual property protection. Our attorneys are experienced in securing a range of protection for clients that includes patent, trademark, service mark, domain name, copyright and trade secret protection. We also regularly counsel on intellectual property licensing, technology transfer agreements, trade disputes and intellectual property enforcement.

Reinhart’s Intellectual Property Practice serves businesses across numerous industries, with a particular emphasis on industrial and research-based organizations. Ours is a global practice, representing clients with headquarters in 17 different U.S. states and in many countries around the globe.

Our attorneys are uniquely suited to develop well-rounded approaches to intellectual property protection that provide our clients with creative solutions and integrated strategic planning. Several of our intellectual property attorneys have experience as practicing engineers – many with advanced degrees – informing our perspective on the product development process, including the practicalities of engineering and the design phase. We seek to add value to our counsel by always understanding our client’s business, and we often serve as part of a client’s product review team or participate in strategic planning meetings to better understand their overall product mix.

Reinhart’s Intellectual Property Practice is regularly recognized as among the best in the United States. Most recently, we have been named a 2016 Best Law Firm in Patent Law nationally, and a 2016 Best Law Firm in Patent Law, Patent Litigation and IP Litigation in Wisconsin by U.S. News Media/Best Lawyers.

We also have deep experience handling intellectual property conflicts, and frequently provide counsel on disputes involving patents, trademarks, copyrights, trade secrets and unfair competition. Reinhart attorneys are adept at finding creative solutions to disputes that protect our client’s interest and secure their rights. It is our goal to avoid intellectual property litigation, and we can often find a resolution before a matter reaches that point. At the same time, our Patent and Intellectual Property Litigation team is fully prepared to handle cases that progress to that point.

Leveraging a multidisciplinary approach to our intellectual property dispute and litigation matters, we frequently collaborate with our Banking and Finance, Corporate Law, International, Labor and Employment, Litigation and Tax practices. Our attorneys efficiently handle cases and seek to always secure the most favorable client outcomes. We litigate in state and federal courts throughout the country, including the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals and Trademark Trial Appeal Board in Washington, D.C.

Reinhart’s Intellectual Property Practice includes a dedicated group of registered patent practitioners whose practice focuses on obtaining high quality and strategic patent protection and providing sophisticated patent counseling. Since 2010, Reinhart has filed more than 1,900 patent applications and issued more than 1,700 patents worldwide. Our patent approach includes leveraging the skills of patent attorneys with specialized knowledge in a wide variety of technologies, including: mechanical, electrical, electronic and chemical arts; e-commerce and business methods; biological sciences, biotechnology and pharmacology; and medical devices.

Our patent practitioners also provide counsel on securing corporate patents and intellectual property in the event that an employee leaves an organization to work for a competitor. Without patent protection, copying and reverse engineering new products is entirely legal. To prevent this from happening and to encourage employees to consider patenting important innovations and key technological developments, our practitioners partner with clients to raise patent awareness amongst employees. As a result, new ideas can be patented and competitors can be prevented from copying innovative technology and new products.

Attorneys

Author(s)

Michael J. Baima

Shareholder o: 815.654.5628 f: 815.654.5770 mbaima@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James D. Borchardt

Shareholder o: 414.298.8160 f: 414.298.8097 jborchardt@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jeremy R. Bridge

Shareholder o: 815.654.5626 f: 815.654.5770 jbridge@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Rodney D. DeKruif

Shareholder o: 414.298.8360 f: 414.298.8097 rdekruif@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Andrew J. Doyle

Associate o: 815.654.5624 f: 815.654.5770 adoyle@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

David G. Hanson

Shareholder o: 414.298.8324 f: 414.298.8097 dhanson@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Andrew J. Heinisch

Shareholder o: 815.654.5621 f: 815.654.5770 aheinisch@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John Paul Kale

Associate o: 815.654.5634 f: 815.654.5770 jkale@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Daniel E. Kattman

Shareholder o: 414.298.8185 f: 414.298.8097 dkattman@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Robert A. Lawler

Associate o: 608.229.2217 f: 608.229.2100 rlawler@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jeffery J. Makeever

Shareholder o: 815.654.5620 f: 815.654.5770 jmakeever@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Leslie S. Miller

Of Counsel o: 414.298.8321 f: 414.298.8097 lmiller@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

James G. Morrow

Shareholder o: 414.298.8136 f: 414.298.8097 jmorrow@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Timothy P. Naill

Associate o: 815.654.5625 f: 815.654.5770 tnaill@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Jessica Hutson Polakowski

Shareholder o: 608.229.2219 f: 608.229.2100 jpolakowski@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Paul J. Stockhausen

Shareholder o: 414.298.8186 f: 414.298.8097 pstockha@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Heidi R. Thole

Associate o: 414-298-8351 f: 414.298.8097 hthole@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

John J. Whelan

Associate o: 815.654.5639 f: 815.654.5770 jwhelan@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Catherine Witczak

Associate o: 414.298.8313 f: 414.298.8097 cwitczak@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Gordon M. Wright

Shareholder o: 815.654.5646 f: 815.654.5770 gwright@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Additional Professionals

Author(s)

Miranda N. Branscomb

Paralegal o: 815.654.5627 f: 815.654.5770 mbransco@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Andrea Dietzel

Paralegal o: 414.298.8318 f: 414.298.8097 adietzel@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Michala E. Eberlein

Paralegal o: 414.298.8329 f: 414.298.8097 meberlein@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Angela D. Locke

Paralegal o: 815.654.5642 f: 815.654.5770 alocke@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Danielle G.I. Martinez

Paralegal o: 815.654.5638 f: 815.654.5770 dmartinez@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Travis L. McDonnell

Paralegal o: 414.298.8246 f: 414.298.8097 tmcdonnell@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

Author(s)

Anne M. Scholl

Paralegal o: 414.298.8410 f: 414.298.8097 ascholl@reinhartlaw.com View full profile

News


Reinhart Shareholder Gordon M. Wright participated in Leadership Rockford’s 63rd class to build stronger business, government, and civic ties to the community.
Continue


Fifteen Reinhart attorneys are recognized as 2017 “Leaders in their Field” by Chambers USA.
Continue


Reinhart welcomes Heidi R. Thole to the firm’s Intellectual Property Practice.
Continue

View All News

Knowledge

View All Knowledge